What is Medicare?

Medicare is a Federal Health insurance program for individuals:

  • Age 65 and older
  • Under age 65 with certain disabilities
  • Any age who have been determined to have End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD).


Medicare is broken down into several different plans called parts.


Medicare Part A: Hospital Insurance

Part A helps cover inpatient care in:

  • Hospitals
  • Skilled Nursing Facilities (SNFs)
  • Home Health Agencies (HHAs)
  • Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs)
  • Hospice Agencies

Some individuals are automatically enrolled in Part A. Others apply to the program when they are eligible.


Medicare Part B: Medical Insurance

Part B is voluntary and designed to supplement Part A coverage. It helps cover:

  • Physician visits
  • Non-physician practitioners, and
  • Suppliers (ambulance, durable medical equipment (DMEs), prosthetics, orthotics and supplies, and clinical labs)

Medicare Part D: Prescription Drug Plan

Part D is a voluntary plan that helps cover prescription drug costs for patients with Medicare. Beneficiaries can choose the Medicare Prescription Drug Plan that best meets their needs. Plan benefits can vary depending on; what prescription drugs are covered, how much the beneficiary pays, and which pharmacies the beneficiary can use.


For more information or to apply for Medicare you may call or visit:


1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227)


The Social Security Administration